Of Course You Can…And Don’t Let Anyone Tell You Different!

I really don’t like people telling me I can’t do things.  I really, really don’t like people representing themselves as experts (or worse, they freely admit they know nothing about what I do) and telling me a bunch of stuff that isn’t true.  It’s like the time I told my hair stylist that I wanted to try a pixie cut.  He said,No, you’ll look like a boy.”  Say what?  Um…no, I believe I’ll look like a girl with very short hair.  And I did…look like a girl with very short hair…and a new stylist.  I didn’t give up, I found someone who would work with my hair the way I wanted.  My new stylist explained that my hair was a little too thick to go as short as a pixie, but we got pretty close to it.  My point is people say things all the time, and many of them don’t know what they’re talking about, especially when it comes to your personal and/or professional hopes and dreams.  You need to be able to realistically weed out the good advice from the bad and be confident in the things you want to achieve.  I grabbed some of my favorite quotes to share with you and I hope that they’ll help you keep moving forward on your quest for success.

Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans. -John Lennon

Yep, things don’t always go according to plan.  That’s ok, don’t freak out.  It’s not the end of the world.  Just be aware that things can get screwed up and plan accordingly.  You might not be able to get that band up and running as easily as you wanted to, but you aren’t going to just give up because things aren’t perfect, are you?  HECK, NO!

Our greatest weakness lies in giving up.  The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time. – Thomas Edison

People work for years to become “overnight sensations”, so just because you aren’t immediately arriving at your destination doesn’t mean you won’t get there.  It just might take a little longer than expected…but that’s life, right?  Edison would know all about that.  He failed to invent the incandescent light bulb about 300 or so times before he finally succeeded.  The trick is to believe in yourself and keep trying.

Spit Happens -unknown, saw it on a bib once

Yes…yes it does…in large quantities.  Spit happens, people say things and people give bad advice.  My advice…don’t give up… just because someone gives you advice doesn’t mean you have to take it (even if they’re an “expert”)…if you don’t know how to do something, find out how…above all, make your own well-informed decisions about whatever you’re doing…and finally, have fun and make sure you really love what you’re doing.  That’s just about all I have to say about it.

Posted on March 27, 2011, in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

