Do What You Love, Love What You Do? Is It Really That Simple?

Yes, it is.  I didn’t think it was.  Many people tried to convince me that it was impossible.  Most of those people didn’t understand how I would make any money doing what I love, therefore it couldn’t be done.  I had to do something I really hated because everyone thought it sounded like a good idea… and because they could understand how I’d make money at it.  They convinced me of that for a long time…and I was miserable…for a long time.

The problem with trying to do something you really don’t like and really don’t want to do is that you don’t even want to talk about it.  Talking about it is excruciating.  You get ticked off at people for even asking about it.  You give really vague answers and try to change the subject as quickly as possible.  The bad part…it makes you sick, lose (or gain) weight and gives you anxiety you never had before.  The worse part…you don’t make any money.  Why?  Because you would rather do anything but… it.  You’ll think that it’s all your fault.  Everyone else thinks it’s such a good idea, I should just love it, too.  What am I doing wrong?  The answer: You’re doing the wrong it.

See, you have to find the it that you really love…then figure out how to make money doing it.  The key word here is YOU.  No one else can figure out your particular it.  Only YOU can figure out what you really love to do.  In my case, I love playing music (not on a record player, I’m a musician, and I’m good at it), helping people, cooking, crafting and gardening.  So, I’m making a new band, writing music, writing this blog and some books, and looking into teaching some cooking and/or crafting classes.

It took me quite a while to get here.  I had to make some hard decisions.  I had to run screaming from the thing that I dreaded and go full steam ahead toward the things that give me joy.  I want to talk about the band all the time…to anyone.  I just released my first single…and I want to tell everyone about it..and tell all the crazy stories about recording it.  I want to talk about this blog and my existing book (and books in progress) with anyone who will listen.  I wake up thinking about blog posts and song ideas and recipes and craft projects.  Most importantly…I wake up motivated.

You can be motivated, too.  Surround yourself with friends who will really support you and be there for you.  Avoid those who always tell you why something is a bad idea.  These people may actually think they’re helping you, but they are really just trying to make you fearful of ever doing anything.  It’s ok to be afraid, but don’t let it paralyze you…be brave.  Run toward the thing that gives you joy.  Then figure out how to get paid for doing it.  It takes a lot of work and confidence…but, when you are doing what you love all that just comes naturally.

Find your happy, y’all!

 

Posted on February 19, 2011, in Inspiration, Musician's Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

